The Pro Football Hall of Fame named its 15 finalists for the Class of 2012, with guard Will Shields and coach Bill Parcells being first time finalists (Parcells was technically a finalist before, when coaches did not have to wait the five years, and is apparently considered a first time candidate again).

Joining Parcells and Shields as finalists from the modern era:

  • Jerome Bettis, RB
  • Tim Brown, WR
  • Cris Carter, WR
  • Dermontti Dawson, C
  • Eddie DeBartolo, Jr., Contributor
  • Chris Doleman, DE
  • Kevin Greene, OLB/DE
  • Charles Haley, DE
  • Cortez Kennedy, DT
  • Curtis Martin, RB
  • Andre Reed, WR
  • Willie Roaf, T
  • Aeneas Williams, CB
  • The only two we missed on were Aeneas Williams (who we had as a finalist last year), and DeBartolo, Jr. In their places we had picked coach Bill Cowher (who wasn’t even a semifinalist, presumably due to the belief he will resume coaching) and RB Terrell Davis.

    All five of our picks for the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2012 are still in the running.

    Missing the cut from the 2012 Pro Football Hall of Fame semifinalist list were:

  • Steve Atwater
  • Don Coryell
  • Roger Craig
  • Clay Matthews
  • Karl Mecklenburg
  • Donnie Shell
  • Paul Tagliabue
  • Steve Tasker
  • Ron Wolf
  • George Young
  • The list of finalists will be narrowed to 10, and then down to five on the Saturday before the Super Bowl, and those five will be voted on individually for inclusion along with Senior Candidates Jack Butler and Dick Stanfel.

    Follow up in the comments with your thoughts on the finalists…